Connect and Disconnect the Microsoft Tenant
Connecting your organization’s Microsoft tenant to a Newforma Konekt hub gives you a more efficient way to control hub access. You can connect Entra groups to the hub and, whenever users are added to or removed from these groups, the same change is synced to their hub access.
The sync is one way, from Entra ID to Newforma Konekt: changes to a synced user’s profile in Newforma Konekt do not update Entra ID.
Connect a Microsoft Tenant
To connect the Microsoft tenant:
- Make sure groups have already been created in Entra ID.
- Open the Integrations page in your hub.
- Locate Microsoft Entra ID integration and click Connect.
- Authenticate access to your Microsoft tenant and request read-only permissions for Newforma Konekt to access your tenant.
- Wait for approval from the Entra ID application administrator in your organization.
- Return to the Integrations page and click the gear icon next to Entra ID.
- Click Add Groups and re-authenticate your access to your Microsoft tenant.
- Enter the exact group names. Capitalization doesn’t matter, but all other characters must match. You can add multiple groups at once.
- Click Add Groups again
- Click the tickbox to confirm that you want to acknowledge the user sync and click Confirm.
Once confirmed, the sync cannot be cancelled. It continues running in the background even if you close the window. Make sure you’ve selected the correct Entra ID groups before proceeding.
Connecting a tenant does not add its domains to your hub’s internal domains list automatically. If you want synced users to have access to all projects, add the relevant domains to your internal domains list manually.
Connect an Additional Tenant
A single hub can connect to more than one Microsoft tenant. Each additional tenant requires its own one-time admin consent.
Follow the same steps above, signing in with an account from the additional tenant. An application administrator for that tenant must approve the request before the connection is finalized.
Disconnect a Microsoft Tenant
To disconnect a tenant:
- Open the Integrations page in your hub.
- Locate Entra ID and click the gear icon.
- Click Disconnect.
- Acknowledge the warning message.
- Click Disconnect again to start the disconnection process.
Disconnecting a tenant does not remove or disable existing synced users. The hub owner and hub admins are notified that future adds and removes will not sync until the connection is re-established.
FAQ
- Q: What permissions does Newforma Konekt request when I connect a tenant?
- A: Newforma Konekt requests the following read-only permissions: User.Read.All, Domain.Read.All, Group.Read.All, and GroupMember.Read.All. These grant Newforma Konekt access the information we need to sync groups and group members; readings domains, groups, group memberships, and user profiles. Newforma Konekt does not write to or modify information in your Microsoft tenant.
- A: Newforma Konekt requests the following read-only permissions: User.Read.All, Domain.Read.All, Group.Read.All, and GroupMember.Read.All. These grant Newforma Konekt access the information we need to sync groups and group members; readings domains, groups, group memberships, and user profiles. Newforma Konekt does not write to or modify information in your Microsoft tenant.
